Quality in Undergraduate Teaching Awards:

These awards recognize teachers who take pride in and are committed to quality undergraduate teaching and who demonstrate substantial continuing involvement in undergraduate education. Nominations are based on a commitment to and evidence of outstanding UNDERGRADUATE teaching including, but not limited to, 100- and 200-level courses. Nominees should demonstrate a combination of talent, creativity and enthusiasm for teaching reflected in their teaching style and student interactions. All current fixed term and tenure system faculty with at least three years of teaching experience at Michigan State University are eligible for nomination.

Two recipients of this award are selected annually.


Awards will be granted according to the following criteria (not in order of importance):

  • passion and enthusiasm for the subject matter/area of study

  • concern for students, in and out of the classroom, including as individuals who deserve acknowledgment and respect

  • appreciation of national and international diversity

  • provision for student participation to ensure active involvement in the learning process and to maximize active learning

  • demonstration of well-developed, organized, and sequenced instruction which explains major course concepts

  • encouragement of critical analysis, problem-solving, and divergent points of view

  • promotion of writing and communication skills as part of the instruction

  • prompt feedback on coursework and projects

  • linkage with other disciplines

  • incorporation of research in the discipline and in teaching

Up to two individuals may be nominated. Click to learn more about the Quality in Undergraduate Teaching Awards.  2016-17 Alumni Nomination form.pdf. To make a nomination, fill out the form below.