Teacher–Scholar Award:

Teacher–Scholar Awards are given to members of the tenure system faculty from the ranks of assistant professor and associate professor who, early in their careers, have earned the respect of students and colleagues for their devotion to and skill in teaching. To be considered for an MSU Teacher–Scholar Award, a tenure system faculty member must hold the rank of assistant professor or associate professor and, at the beginning of the award period, must have served on the faculty for at least two semesters but no more than seven academic years at Michigan State University. In addition, nominees must not have more than ten years of employment experience of all kinds since receipt of the terminal degree applicable to their discipline. Years spent in “postdoc” appointments will not be counted in determining eligibility. Nominees for a Teacher–Scholar Award must be willing to permit a member of the awards committee to visit their classrooms.

Up to six Teacher–Scholar Awards are awarded


Awards will be granted according to the following criteria (not in order of importance):

  • Instructional effectiveness; impact on the student

  • Uses of innovative techniques and/or approaches in teaching

  • Scholarship

  • Public Service/Outreach

Up to four individuals may be nominated. Click to learn more about the Teacher-Scholar Award. 2016-17 TSA Nomination form.pdf. To make a nomination, fill out the form below.