Staff Honored for Their Service and Outstanding Work

Two new awards were presented at this year’s College of Arts & Letters Staff Appreciation Ceremony in addition to the Jo-Ann Vanden Bergh Award. Seven staff members also were recognized for their years of service during the annual event, which took place June 9 at the Kellogg Hotel and Conference Center.

“It is really the commitment that each of you make to bringing your best selves to the job every day that makes the College of Arts & Letters great, that makes Michigan State University great,” Christopher P. Long, Dean of the College of Arts & Letters, told staff members during the Ceremony. “It’s that work that you do that often doesn’t get noticed, and one of the most exciting parts about a day like this is we get a chance to celebrate and to recognize that work.”

The two new staff awards established by the College are the Rising Star Award and Exceptional Service Award. Leann Dalimonte, Secretary II in the Department of Romance and Classical Studies received the Rising Star Award while Sherry Stevens, Building Services Worker in the Department of Theatre, received the Exceptional Service Award. And, this year’s Jo-Ann Venden Bergh Award went to Stacey Greisinger, Secretary III in the Department of Theatre.

Jo-Ann Vanden Bergh Award

Currently in its 6th year, the Jo-Ann Vanden Bergh award is named in honor of Jo-Ann Vanden Bergh, who served the College of Arts & Letters for more than 25 years in various staff positions. Established in 2011, the award’s first recipient was its namesake, Jo-Ann Vanden Bergh.

woman with brown hair receiving award from man with glassesAs this year’s recipient, Greisinger received a plaque, $1,000 award, and will be recognized with a citation and name plate on the permanent award plaque outside the Dean’s office. 

“Stacey’s ability to work for the Department’s betterment is paramount in each interaction with administration, other campus units, and both current and prospective students,” said Kirk Doner, Chair of the Department of Theatre. “Her connections to local schools and organizations is invaluable. She remains a strong and necessary conduit for all community-based projects.”

The Rising Star Award

This award recognizes non-academic support staff members who have worked for the College of Arts & Letters for one to three years. It was established to honor staff members who shown promise early in their CAL careers by exhibiting exemplary dedication to the mission of the College and Michigan State University while consistently demonstrating outstanding performance in fulfillment of their job responsibilities. woman with blonde hair receiving award from man with glasses  

As the first recipient of this award, Dalimonte received $500 and a plaque.

“Leann’s signature strength is the productivity and quality of her work. She wants her work to make a contribution, to make a difference,” said Douglas Noverr, Chair of the Department of Romance and Classical Studies. “She is a ‘go to’ person because faculty know that she has many talents and skills and that she is always willing to take on challenging tasks.”

Exceptional Service Award

The Exceptional Service Award is based on the Spartan Experience and the sixth imperative of the Bolder by Design strategic framework that calls upon the MSU community to embrace and build upon an invigorated culture of service. The award recognizes non-academic support staff members who have worked for the College at least three years and have consistently demonstrated outstanding performance and a commitment to delivering exceptional service. 

woman with brown hair receiving award from man with glassesAs this year’s recipient, Stevens received $750 and was recognized with a plaque.

“When MSU’s Bolder by Design imperatives were expanded to embrace and build upon an invigorated culture of service, they must have had this individual in mind. She instinctively promotes productive relationships across the unit and university, which is essential to executing our mission,” Domer said. 

Service Recognition Awards

The Service Recognition Awards, recognizing years of service at the University, also were presented during the ceremony. This year’s Service Recognition Awards went to:


  • Ivette Duynslager, English Language Center    
15 years                  
  • Estrella Starn,  Art, Art History, and Design
15 years
  • Marianne Triponi, CeLTA 
15 years 
  • Michael Kramizeh, CeLTA
20 years 
  • Patience Adibe, Languages POD - LL, RCS, GSAH, SLS 
25 years 
  • Diana Shank, WRAC
30 years 
  • Deanna Thomas, Arts & Letters Dean’s Office 
35 years