Undergraduate Juried Exhibition Features Work Across Disciplines

Students enrolled in Department of Art, Art History, and Design (AAHD) classes currently have their work on display through Friday, April 27, at (SCENE) Metrospace, 110 Charles St. in East Lansing, as part of the Undergraduate Juried Exhibition.

An opening reception and awards ceremony was held March 23, with awards given out in the following categories: Apparel & Textile Design, Ceramics, Comics Art & Graphic Novels, Drawing, Electronic Art + Intermedia, Graphic Design, Photography, Painting, Printmaking, and Sculpture.

Student work was critiqued by guest juror, Toni Pepe, who is a Michigan State University AAHD alumna, a Boston-based artist, and an Assistant Professor of Art and Photography at Boston University.

Simone Bryant, Studio Art senior with concentrations in Painting and Photography, won best in show for her piece, Just Hair, which recreates old advertisements so as to include modern women, specifically black women.

woman standing next to her piece in the show, holding award
Simone Bryant with her piece "Just Hair."

“I love the look of old magazines, but the thing is, black girls aren’t in them,” Bryant said. “This is about being black and bringing it into modern-day art.” 

Gregory Fricker, Studio Art senior and U.S. Army veteran, was awarded the Ralf Henricksen Award and the Jens Plum Award for his painting, Clandestine Operations.

As a veteran, people often ask Fricker to summarize what it was like in the military, so he used his painting as a medium to represent that nothing he could tell you about being in the military would ever make sense.

“Everybody always shows soldiers as heroes or villains, both of which are really polarizing,” Fricker said. “I wanted to show what it was like to live through that with somebody. There are no boundaries, you do everything together. Then at the same time, I used cartoon-like, very whimsical colors to juxtapose it.”

2018 AAHD Undergraduate Department Awards & Scholarship Recipients:

  • Best of Show
    Simone Bryant, Just Hair, digital prints, 2017
  • Best of Show 2nd Place
    Kaitlyn Heriford, Kitchen/ Mind Overwhelmed, oil on canvas, 2017
  • Best of Show 3rd Place
    Colleen McClelland, Not All Here, handbound photobook, 2018
  • Honorary Mention Apparel & Textile Design
    Pära Low, 觀世音 (She Who Perceives the Sounds of the World), fashion illustration on paper, 2017 
  • Honorary Mention Ceramics
    Jingyi Meng, Mushroom & Flower Trees, ceramic, 2017
  • Honorary Mention Comics
    Lora Root, Monologuing, pen and ink on paper, 2018
  • Honorary Mention Drawing
    Madeline Smith, Twins, charcoal on paper, 2017
  • Honorary Mention Electronic Art & Intermedia
    May Mccalmon, Landscape, digital print, 2018
  • Honorary Mention Graphic Design
    Dani Pasco, Sgin Aawy Your Life, digital prints, 2017
  • Honorary Mention Painting
    Azya Moore, How many does it take?, oil on panel, 2017
  • ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Honorary Mention Photography
    Richard Tanner, Little Boxes from “Spectrum of Emotion Series”, archival pigment print, 2017
  • ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Honorary Mention Printmaking
    Kathryn Bailey, Persevere, etching on paper, 2017
  • ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Honorary Mention Sculpture
    Leila Malekadeli, Sculptural Healing, cast paper and acrylic paint on found Persian rug, 2017

Department Awards and Scholarships

Awarded by Graphic Design Faculty

  • Joe and Shirley Kuszai Endowed Scholarship
    This scholarship is awarded to an outstanding undergraduate student at the junior level majoring in graphic design.

    ​​​​​​​2018 Recipients: Darcy Shank and Tessa Wegman

Awarded by AAHD Undergraduate Awards Committee

  • The Hentschel Schafer Scholarship
    Established in memory of Marta S. Hentschel Schafer, who earned a degree in Art from MSU in 1965, and endowed through the generous support of her husband, J. Donald Schafer, and their children, Scott and Heidi, this scholarship is awarded each year to one or more outstanding juniors with a major in the Department of Art, Art History, and Design. 

    2018 Recipients: Allison Steffen and Michael Matias Brimmer
  • Calder Scholarship
    Named for Ralph Calder, architect of the Kresge Art Center, which houses the Department of Art, Art History, and Design, this scholarship is awarded annually to a junior in the Department of Art, Art History, and Design who has demonstrated excellence in completed course work and who exhibits potential for performing superbly in the senior year.

    2018 Recipient: Thais Wenstrom
  • Geraldine Potchen Award
    This award was established by Dr. E. James Potchen, MSU Professor of Radiology, and is given annually in honor of Mrs. Potchen to a sophomore in the Department of Art, Art History, and Design who demonstrates excellence in completed course work and exhibits potential to perform superbly in future courses.

    2018 Recipient: Aria Frawley
  • Ralf Henricksen Award
    This award is given annually to a graduating senior majoring in Painting in the Department of Art, Art History, and Design, whose work is deemed by the faculty to be the most successful in the final year of study.

    2018 Recipients: Alyssa Thornton and Gregory Fricker
  • ​​​Jens Plum Award
    The Jens Plum Award is given to the Department of Art, Art History, and Design annually by Nancy Plum in memory of her husband, Jens Plum. The award is presented to a junior or senior Studio Art major whose work reveals special artistic insight through the act or process of drawing.

    2018 Recipient: Gregory Fricker
  • ​​​​Gretel Geist Rutledge Award
    This award recognizes students who are doing outstanding work in the area of printmaking. It is the donor’s hope that by being recognized for their work, students will be encouraged to continue to pursue their passion in the medium of printmaking.

    2018 Recipient: Connor Acheson

Awarded by ATD Faculty:

  • Anna Bayha Award
    This award is presented to a student who, at the close of his or her junior year, has shown unusual ability in the field of clothing, has a high scholastic standing, and is partially or wholly self-supporting.

    2018 Recipient: Allison Steffen
  • Anna Creekmore Award
    This award is given to a graduating senior in Apparel and Textile Design who has demonstrated creativity, outstanding scholastic achievement, and professional potential.
    2018 Recipient: Rachel Brunhild
  • Ellen Judson Award
    This award is given to the student in Apparel and Textile Design attaining the highest and best standing in clothing courses at the close of the sophomore year.

    2018 Recipient: Christine Foley